GLOBAL SELF DRIVE UGANDA TRIP REVIEWS

For us quality of experience is only second to safety. We are committed to providing world-class Car Rental Services to all travelers from all over the globe looking for exceptional Road Trips, Self Drive Safaris and Holiday Getaways in Uganda with friends and family.
Self Drive Uganda on Trip Advisor
Read More About Us on Trip Advisor for more Details
Below are our Reviews from Trip Advisor, so look through the and et inspired to take on a Self Drive Tour to any destination of your choice on Vacation. 
  • A wonderful experience with the self drive cars

Thank you very much Self drive Uganda. Your car was in sound condition plus you’re so courteous. I would definitely use your services again and again. Thank you

Date of experience: October 2020, Trip type: Traveled with family (tabitha m wrote a review Oct 16)

  • Car with a driver

We needed a car with a driver to drive from Entebbe to Kasese and back, 6 hours drive each way, we got a quick answer and the best price from self drive Uganda, Moses, the driver waited to us at the airport and took us safely and exactly at time! At the way back ,he arrived half an hour before we set , the drive went smoothly and the car was very comfortable.
We highly recommend this company, they trust you and do not take any deposit and also gives you quick answers and responses.
Date of experience: February 2020, Trip type: Traveled as a couple (Keren ,Israrl.wrote a review Mar 2020)
  • Self-drive with driver/guide

Billy was a very knowledgeable guide during our 10 day trip around Uganda. Joy helped us out during preparation. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: February 2020 (michielhoff wrote a review Feb 2020)

  • 4×4 Land Cruiser with roof top tent

Land Cruiser with Roof Top Tent in Uganda
 
We rented a Land Cruiser with roof top tent for 2 weeks. The car fully lived up to our expectations! Well equipped, powerful and in good shape. Just as importantly, Billy and Joy from Self Drive… were very attentive, helpful and service minded. They come with my full recommendations. Jesper, Denmark

Date of experience: February 2020, Trip type: Traveled with friends (Jesper Laursen wrote a review Feb 2020)

  • Robust Car with Roof Top Tents

I arranged a rental car with roof top tents for 4 adults upfront with Billy via whatsapp. As agreed, Billy and his crew brought the car to our guest house im Entebbe but unfortunately the ignition did not work. Billy somehow managed to repair the car despite public bank holiday and we could start our travel almost as planned. During the tour we once needed a repair and called Billy who sent a mechanic and after only one hour (incredibly short time especially for Uganda!) we did get back on the road. The car was a very robust Toyota Land Cruiser which was perfect for the sometimes very difficult roads. I would recommend to ask for two spare tires – we were lucky and did not need them but with these roads you never know. The roof top tents were in good condition but I would recommend to unfold and install one tent upfront for training and also for checking whether the tent equipment is complete. The cooking equipment includes the essentials such as pots, plats, cutlery and a gas bottle.
For everybody who wants to discover and drive through Uganda on his or her own, I would definitely recommend Self Drive Uganda.

Date of experience: December 2019, Trip type: Traveled with friends (marie p wrote a review Jan 2020 Berlin, Germany)

  • Amazing self drive trip Uganda/Rwanda on a RAV4

We travel around Uganda and Rwanda for 25 days with a Rav4 rented from Self Drive Uganda and we must say that it was amazing. Since the beginning Billy from Self Drive Uganda answered our questions promptly and agreed with our requests. We can be difficult costumers but nothing was too much for Billy.
We even forgot to mention to him in the beginning that we were going to cross to Rwanda, and still Billy made sure that we had everything we needed when we last minute informed him. We truly thank you for that.
In more than 2000 km we had no problem with the car supplied to us.
Thank you Self Drive Uganda for making our trip possible.

Date of experience: December 2019 (bluenomads_silvestre wrote a review Dec 2019 Lisbon, Portugal)

  • Incredible self-drive experience, 100% recommendation

We headed to Uganda for a research expedition from Okt. – Nov. 2019 and rented a Landcruiser V8 for around 5 weeks total. The overall experience was incredible!
Starting with talking to Billie from Self Drive Uganda via Email and WhatsApp about the arrangement where he insisted on giving us a V8 instead of a normal landcruiser, which we rented before on another occasion. This was done because the rainy season! Billie was so right! We couldn’t have managed the type of roads we had to take during the rainy season with any other car. The communication during the trip was excellent and we enjoyed the security of the car as well as the spacious, comfortable inside. We loved that the rooftop was easy to open. When we first got the car we were worried about the costs for the fuel because the car looked like it would consume and an enormous amount of fuel but the consumption was surprisingly low. We absolutely loved the suspension of the car, since we had to take several bumpy roads that were not manageable for other cars.
All in all and as returning customers we recommend Self Drive Uganda 100%! We will be back to Uganda in a couple of months and Self Drive Uganda will be our first company to talk to again!

Date of experience: October 2019, Trip type: Traveled on business (Inken wrote a review Dec 2019)

  • Incredible once in a lifetime experience

Uganda is an amazing country and even better seen by your own personal roadtrip.
The national parks are very well set up with well trained guides available.
If you have car troubles, Self Drive Uganda has mechanics all around the country to get you back on the road as soon as possible. They even gave us a phone to take with us in any case if we needed to contact them.
The respond time in contacting them is near Instant we found, taking alot of anxiety out of equation.
This is the original Self Drive Uganda company, be aware there is copycat companies with similar names eg Uganda self drive. These are separate companies and this review isnt for them.
We travelled in the Rav4. It was very capable and reliable for an older car. Ended up hiring for 21 days as we extended the trip because we were loving it so much. This was no problem and was arranged with a simple message.

Date of experience: October 2019, Trip type: Traveled as a couple (bronwyn wrote a review Nov 2019)

  • Unforgettable Self Drive Trip in Uganda

Find Us on Trip Advisor
 
My partner and I have just returned from a brilliant 10-day self drive safari, taking in Lake Mburo NP, Bwindi Impenetrable NP and Queen Elizabeth NP, and we couldn’t be happier with the service from the Self Drive Uganda team.
Our trusty Rav 4 carried us safely through the beautiful Ugandan landscapes and parks despite some very heavy rain at times. We camped among the wildlife and cooked some of our own meals using the hired equipment which was great fun. There’s nothing quite like listening to the Hippos grazing around the tent or the Hyenas calling in the night!
We saw the tree climbing lions in Ishasha, Elephants in Mweya, giraffes and zebras in Mburo, and of course the mountain gorillas in Bwindi. Not to mention countless buffalos, kobs, hippos, crocs, impala, warthog, waterbuck, baboons and astonishing bird life!
All in all it was an enjoyable, safe and good value trip – we recommend Uganda, the self drive experience, and the Self Drive Uganda team! We hope to be back soon to tour the northern parts of the country.

Date of experience: October 2019 (Charles King wrote a review Oct 2019)

  • Unique experience!

We had wonderful trip! Driving yourself in Uganda is totally worth it: camping on the roof with wild animals around and above all the sense freedom. We had a few technical problems, but Billy was very helpful and we managed to return safely. We recommend it!

Date of experience: September 2019, Trip type: Traveled as a couple (Rens wrote a review Oct 2019)

  • Perfect ride! We want to thank the people from Self drive Uganda for their excellent service!

We did a roadtrip in Uganda with a Toyota RAV4 and the car didn’t let us down at all. Fast replays when we had questions. It was very easy to arrange the booking. When we wanted to extend the rent of the car with a day, there was no problem! They also bring and pick up the car wherever you want for free.

Date of experience: September 2019, Trip type: Traveled with friends (Anneke Scheers wrote a review Sep 2019)

  • Self Drive Uganda and Rwanda

Overall our experience with Self Drive Uganda was excellent! We took a 16 day trip all throughout Uganda and through a smaller part of Rwanda. It began with the booking of the Jeep through communication with Joy which was excellent. At first we were a bit cautious since the company did not require a down payment, but the car was reserved for us on the date expected. While we initially requested a Toyota Landcruiser with a special request for USB connection to music from personal device, we were upgraded to a Toyota Landcruiser V8 (though without the USB connection for music). The car was in good condition overall though there were some minor issues such as some leaking from the window during strong rainfall. In addition, only the high beam lights worked. One major pitfall was that we were provided with a jack that was not strong enough for the car that we received and it broke during our first attempt to fix a flat tire. With that said, as soon as we called Billy, he immediately made every effort to bring us a new jack as soon as possible. Billy was very responsive and was always making every effort to help us with any problem that we had during the trip. They prepared all of the paperwork for crossing over to Rwanda and we passed through with no issues at all. Overall the experience was very good.

Date of experience: August 2019 (Dalia D wrote a review Sep 2019)